Welcome to Carluke Camera Club

affiliated to the Photographic Alliance of Great Britain & the Scottish Photographic Federation

Held in St Andrew’s Parish Church Hall

Mount Stewart Street, Carluke

President : Iain S Pollock

Telephone : 01555 770148

founded in 1977

Home Events News About us Galleries Members Competitions Links Cookies Policy

Competitions  - Awards Galleryy

Carluke Camera Club members proudly showing the trophy

At the recent Art of Photography Exhibition hosted by Clydesdale Camera Club in the Lanark Agricultural Centre, held on Saturday 15th September, eleven local clubs and Edinburgh Photographic Society were invited to submit a panel of ten prints for competition as well as a display of representative samples of members’ work.  Special guest Aileen Campbell MSP was very impressed with the quality and variety of the photos on show, as were the large numbers of people who attended the event.   Bob Fulton, Landscape Photographer of the Year, intended to be present but sadly could not attend through illness.  A number of his beautifully presented prints were exhibited which showed the standard we have to aim at.   The competition was judged by two greatly respected photographers, Sandy Cleland and Peter Paterson.  Their deliberations resulted in Carluke Camera Club coming out on top as Champion Club overall with the best panel.  A print by David Owen of Carluke Camera Club, entitled ‘Through the air’, was Sandy Cleland’s judges’ choice.  Peter Paterson’s judge’s choice was ‘Mayday, Mayday’ by Alan Brownlie of Clydesdale Camera Club.  Best Print was awarded to ‘Golden Back’ by Gavin Forrest, also of Clydesdale Camera Club.

Scottish Digital Image Champions 2011

On Sunday 20th February Carluke Camera Club were on competition duty again when they travelled to Stirling University for the Scottish Photographic Federation Digital Image Championships. The format of the competition is each club enters 8 Digital Images in the 1st round and a further 8 in the 2nd round with not more than 2 per photographer in either round. Nature entries are also restricted. Each picture is marked by 3 judges each scoring between 2 and 5. After rounds 1 and 2 the top 8 clubs contest the Final and the remainder can enter the Plate Competition.

Carluke found themselves in leading position after the initial 2 rounds and progressed to the final. Shock of the day was Edinburgh's failure to reach the Final. All of the top clubs were very close in an exciting final with gaps only appearing with the last few scores. Carluke maintained their lead at the close of the day with Dumfries Camera Club 2nd and Kilmaurs Photographic Club 3rd. The top 2 clubs are invited to represent Scotland in the PAGB UK Inter-Club Digital Championship. With Dumfries having already qualified 3rd place Kilmaurs will be given the invitation along with Carluke. Three SPF Clubs will therefore represent Scotland at Warwick on 16 July.

Congratulations to Carluke Camera Club who now hold the distinction of being both the current Scottish Photographic Federation Print Champions and Digital Image Champions.

Scottish Print Champions 2010

On Sunday 21st November 2010 members of the club travelled to Stirling University for the Scottish Photographic Federation Print Championships. Representatives from 37 clubs were packed into the hall for the 10am start.

The competition is split into two halves with colour prints in the morning session followed by the mono in the afternoon. With each of the three judges awarding up to five marks for each print the aim is to average a score of 12 per print or above for the club to have any chance of being in the prize list.

As it turned out Carluke surpassed any previous performance with a range of very high scores, so much so that they came out top in both colour and mono sections. For the first time in their 32 year history the club were crowed Scottish Champions. Arch rivals Dumfries were in second place followed by Edinburgh and then Dundee.

After the initial judging the three judges retired to a back room to decide upon the individual awards. Here the icing was well and truly laid on the cake when it was announced that Hunter Kennedy had been awarded the top colour print for ‘November Morning’ and Libby Smith the top mono with ‘The Horse Whisperer’. Hunter Kennedy was given the nod for the best overall print and awarded the Esme Smyth Trophy.

Further awards went to Carluke. Bob Avery was given a judges choice for his mono print ‘Michigan Steam’. Highly commended were Neil Smith, Libby Smith and Hunter Kennedy. Commended were Billy Farrell, Janet Russell, Steve Vanderwalt, Libby Smith and Hunter Kennedy.

Other contributors to the final winning panel were Bert Weir, David Owen, Jim Pollock, Majid Khan, and Tom Bone. The committee would like to thank all in the club who had prints entered.  Without their hard work and talent this success would not have been possible.

The accompanying photo shows from left to right Pat Copner - Mearns CC, Hunter Kennedy - Carluke CC, Libby Smith - Carluke CC, and Malcolm McBeath - Dundee PS.